The First Glance

With the sun in the west and the wind picking up, we knew it wasn’t the ideal thing to do. Yet, the sparkling, soft snow that had covered every visible surface beckoned me out, for the third time that day. As we walked, leaving a trail of ankle deep boot marks in the white mirage, the events of the day started flashing across my mind. I remember that first glance. It was five in the morning and I was woken out of my sleep by some unknown reason. Under any other circumstances, I would have rolled over and gone back to sleep again. But not this morning. Realization dawned on me. This was the day I had been eagerly waiting for since they updated the weather app a couple days ago. That tiny snowflake instead of a sun or a cloud had already gotten me excited about my first snow. I got up and walked up to the blinds. Peeking through the gaps, I saw a beautiful sight. The sky was the color of dull burgundy and the leaf-less trees had water frozen on the branches like deadly spikes. But the snow was yet to come. With a final look at the random white patches strewn across the grass, I went back to sleep.

The sight to behold was the one I finally woke up to. There was a thin layer of soft, white snow covering the ground and all I wanted was to walk across it, leaving behind a trail of footsteps. I settled for a nice cup of morning tea and a wonderful book. What can I say! It was the perfect weather. Or so I thought. Moments later, when I looked up from my book, I saw small, cotton-like flakes had started to make their way down from the sky up above.

Leave a comment