Stream of Consciousness

Stream of Consciousness:

noun

A person’s thoughts and conscious reactions to events, perceived as a continuous flow.

It is one of those days when you have a lot to say but you don’t know how. In fact, this is an attempt to know if writing really does help or not. For someone who talks a lot, I can, at times, surprise myself by staying quite for too long or not having the words to say something. With this in mind, I thought of trying this new thing, because, why not?

When I get sad, I start watching a new series. I don’t necessarily finish them all, but it just feels like the new can take the pain away from the old. But how am I supposed to react to something that starts to rationalise the cause of my sadness and makes me feel childish. Watching something as cute as Chesapeake Shore, when I am angry at my parents only made me feel worse. The way they explain the perspective of a parent and portray the kids as immature is something I felt compelled to put more thought into. Have you ever asked yourself, am I turning into my parents? I know I have.  

We know, for a fact that like charity, one’s behaviour and understanding of the world around them begins at home too. There is a lot that we take from our parents and it’s not just the genes. Our behaviour is not something that should be accounted to our genes but rather to our upbringing. In that case, it would be wrong of Severus Snape to accuse Harry of having turned out like his father, who he hardly has any memory of. However, I won’t deny that the similarity of Harry Potter to his father James just makes our hearts melt!

Although an adult by the official records, there is much about me that refuses to grow up. The fact that erratic behaviour on our parts are looked upon as overreacting or as a sign of ‘acting out’ makes me wonder at exactly what stage in life will this be considered a ‘normal’ behaviour. While the adults have the freedom to react without being questioned about it, we also expect to be given this leave once in a while. Having a lot on one’s plate gives them a justification and makes us a laughing stock because, seriously, what does a 20-year old need to worry about? If adults show their love by reprimanding us, how does our talking back to them become a sign of disrespect?

At this point, all I can think about is Kudos to Virginia Woolf and all those novelists who decided to try this literary form of writing because to me, I sound like a whiny teenager ranting online about issues that somehow don’t matter.

Leave a comment